Back to Press    |PrintPrint or email a friend

Mid Ulster Councillor Cáthal Mallaghan appointed Chair of ICBAN

ICBAN has appointed Mid Ulster District Councillor Cáthal Mallaghan as Chairperson and Councillor Paddy O'Rourke from Leitrim County Council as Vice-Chair at the recent Annual General Meeting. 

The AGM was held on Wednesday 16th November 2016 in the Townhall, Enniskillen.  Councillor Mallaghan thanked the Management Board and in accepting his new position said, "It is a hugh honour to take on this role. In the current economic and political climate, cross-border collaboration needs to remain a key focus for the organisation. My intention for the coming year is to grow ICBAN and our focus will be highlighting implications of Brexit for this border area, advancing broadband telecommunications and the continuing development of cross-border and transnational partnerships to progress this Region."

Councillor Paddy O'Rourke thanked Board Members for his nomination to the position of Vice-Chair and congratulated Councillor Mallaghan on his appointment.

The outgoing Chairperson, Councillor Sinéad Maguire noted the past year had seen many political changes which would impact on the island of Ireland in the coming months and years; including elections in both jurisdictions, the Brexit Referendum and the recent American Presidency Election. She said that common goals, objectives and opportunities for cross-border and transnational working that the ICBAN Partnership provides are invaluable and she emphasised the importance of continuing and developing priority initiatives. 

Back to News Articles