The need for ICBAN was identified by the region’s local authorities in the early 1990’s and led to the formal establishment of ICBAN in 1995. The organisation was set up to promote co-operation and communication on a cross-border basis on common regional development concerns.


ICBAN’s core services can be broken down into:

  1. Lead Partner for the INTERREG IVA Programme in the Central Border Region;
  2. Strategic Development and Leadership function for the region (including the Strategic Development and Leadership function for the region (including the Central Border Region Spatial Planning Initiative – also referred to as the ‘Vision’).

ICBAN have produced a Corporate Plan for the period 2011-2013. It sets out how ICBAN aims to works towards its Mission in improving the quality of life and prosperity in the Central Border Region. During this period the organisation will be working on creating a separate Vision and Strategy for future development in the region through a Spatial Planning Initiative. This will be completed in 2013, at which time the organisation can again review its future direction.

ICBAN Member Councils


Northern Ireland

Republic of Ireland


Armagh City, Bambridge and Craigavon  Borough CouncilCavan County Council Donegal County  Council Fermanagh and Omagh District Council  LeitrimCounty Council  Monaghan County Council  Mid Ulster District Council Sligo County Council