At the recent AGM held in Monaghan, Councillor Séamus Coyle from Monaghan County Council was elected as the new Chairperson for 2023/24, and Councillor Eugene McConnell of Mid Ulster District Council as Vice-Chair.

The new Chairperson, Councillor Coyle has been an elected representative since 2004, and a member of the ICBAN Management Board since 2016. In his acceptance statement, he thanked his proposers and said that it was a privilege to have been elected to the role of leading ICBAN into 2024. Remarking on his focus for the next year Councillor Coyle said, “It is important that all eight member Councils work together to ultimately find solutions for regional challenges. We must think regionally which will benefit our local communities. There are challenges across this region, but this organisation can help to address these through collaborative working. In the next year, we are looking forward to developing projects, and the opportunities to access funding through programmes such as the PEACEPLUS Programme and the Shared Island funds”.

Councillor Coyle also thanked the outgoing Chair Councillor Allan Rainey, and previous Chairs, Councillor Sam Nicholson, and Councillor David Maxwell for fulfilling their roles and commitment to cross-border cooperation in the Central Border Region.

On his nomination to the role of Vice-Chair, Councillor Eugene McConnell thanked the ICBAN Management Board and said he was looking forward to a year of positive progress, working with Councillor Coyle, the Management Board, and member Councils.